Between two ages: the music of Alexander Zemlinsky

Saturday July 29

Koepelkerk, Smilde
20.15 hrs.

A. Schönberg – Suite op. 25
A. Zemlinsky – Piano trio op. 3
A. Zemlinsky – String quartet no. 4 op. 25

Itxaso Etxeberria Jaurrieta (piano), Juan Zurutuza (piano), Veselina Manikova (violin), Amparo Lacruz (cello), Hermitage Quartet: Jacobien Rozemond (violin), Floor le Coultre (violin), Francien Schatborn (viola), Will McLeish (cello)

Alexander Zemlinsky (1871-1942) is mostly known as teacher, friend and brother in law Arnold Schönberg. During his life his compositions were not performed regularly. Which is a shame because his oeuvre is a true testimony of the musical developments between 1890 and 1940. Brahms and Mahler, who he admired very much, are begin recognized in his early works, such as the Trio op. 3. The 4th String Quartet op. 25 is much more modern and indicates the New Deal and jazz. It is striking that it has the same opus number, 25, as Schönberg's Suite and it is also written in suite form. Could this be Zemlinsky's hommage to his brother in law..?

Price concert: € 24,-