1918 - 2018: Claude Debussy 4 'Music is the silence between the notes'

Wednesday August 1

Lutherse Kerk, Groningen
20.15 hrs.

C. Debussy - Préludes livre I and II

Paul Komen, Juan Zurutuza, Nata Tsvereli, Yoram Ish-Hurwitz, Igor Roma, Ilona Timchenko (piano)

Debussy’s inventivity never was shown more than in the 24 préludes he wrote from 1909 to 1912. No other composer had ever shown such understanding for the audible possibilities which could be made with the refined use of the pedals. This gave birth to a whole new world of sonorities, a floating, layered and modest space created by Debussy's new vision on piano techniques. For this reason the préludes are one of the peaks in Debussy's oeuvre.

Preceeding the concert a diner will take place in restaurant De Pauw. This package is including drinks and starts at 17.30 hrs.

Price concert: € 24,-
Price concert incl. package: € 72,-