1918 – 2018: Claude Debussy 2 'Music is the silence between the notes'

Saturday July 28

Groate kerk, St. Jacobiparochie
20.15 hrs.

C. Debussy - Piano trio in G major
C. Debussy - Proses lyriques
C. Debussy - Nocturne and Scherzo for cello and piano
C. Debussy - Danse sacrée and Danse profane
C. Debussy - Violin sonata in g minor

Juan Zurutuza (piano), Veselina Manikova (violin), Amparo Lacruz (cello), Klaartje van Veldhoven (soprano), Paul Komen (piano), Yoram Ish-Hurwitz (piano), Manja Smits (harp), Moshe Hammer (violin), Chris Duindam (violin), Christophe Weidmann (viola), Corine ’t Hoen (cello), Finne van der Maar (double bass), Jacobien Rozemond (violin), Nata Tsvereli (piano)

Debussy wrote his charming and lyrical piano trio at the age of 17 when he was a guest at Nadezjda von Meck, benefactor of Tchaikovsky. In his lied cycle Proses Lyriques he used his own, by Symbolists inspired poems, which integrate very well with his music. At the end of this program you will hear his last composition, the violin sonata, which he wrote in 1917. The première of the sonata, with Debussy himself on piano, was his last public performance.

Preceeding the concert a guided walk is organized around the area of St. Jacobiparochie and a diner at restaurant De Zwarte Haan. This package starts at 16.00 hrs. at the Groate Kerk.

Price concert: € 24,-
Price concert incl. package: € 57,-